top of page

Day 1: Jesus Doesn't Want Your Sacrifice??

For clarification, the first blog was the "Getting Started" portion of the workbook, and the following is a reflection over the actual "Day 1" activity.

By looking up given bible verses throughout the gospels, I was tasked with interpreting the everyday messages we can take from them. By being asked to put into my own words the quotes of Jesus, I found it easier to apply the principles to regular life.

One verse that particularly struck me was Matthew 9: 12-13. The message behind vs. 12 is obvious; seek the lost to help them, because they are the people who need the Gospel. Vs. 13 however, sent my mind spinning. My reflections followed this thought train....

"Jesus said He desires mercy and not sacrifice. But how can we be merciful to Jesus? He is all powerful, holy, and King. I don't even think it's possible to be merciful to Jesus... That must mean that He wants us to be merciful to others....

But isn't the whole thing about being a christian sacrificial? Christians are supposed to offer up their lives as a living sacrifice, putting the glory of God ahead of ourselves at all times. How can Jesus say he desires mercy and not sacrifice? It is the definition of sacrifice to follow Him!" (Matthew 10:37-39)

I am not sure, but I think a clue lies in the next few verses. The disciples of John asked Jesus why they and the Pharisees fasted often, but Jesus' disciples did not. Jesus essentially said that how could his followers mourn while he is with them? He added that after He is taken up to heaven, then they will fast.

The only conclusion I have come to is that when Jesus said He desired mercy over sacrifice, He was speaking directly to the self-glorifying sacrifice that the Pharisees often exhibited (like the aforementioned fasting). Sometimes, this type of sacrifice does not point to the glory of God, but rather glorifies the God created person. It reminds me of the idea that if you "act right" your whole life, you'll get into heaven by your works alone. This type of sacrifice, with no faith/worship/dependence behind it, is of no interest to Jesus. My Father in Law, whom I respect and admire, talks about his childhood faith being built around a dogma of right actions to avoid the hellfire. This is a familiar ideology to most christians, and I think this verse picks apart it's flaw.

Chelsey wisely pointed me to 1st Corinthians 13:3, which really sums up what I began to expect this passage meant. Thanks, babe! Many know the saying "faith without works", but this passage assures that "works without faith" would have the same implication.

The application of the mercy that Jesus prefers was still a bit fuzzy to me, so I read the text before the verse. Jesus, when speaking this verse, was eating with "tax collectors and sinners" (for those not aware, tax collectors were individuals noted by their dishonesty and greed). In eating with them, he was undoubtedly merciful towards them. The Pharisees asked why he was eating with these people, and that is when Jesus said the verse we've been dissecting.

What are your thoughts about this verse? How do you think our mercy is to be given

out? What kind of mercy does God require us to dole out in the course of our daily lives? Let me know your thoughts!


bottom of page