top of page

Day 3: When The Verse Hits You Like 🔥

Day three of Dann Spader's "Walking as Jesus Walked" workbook directs me to do something I couldn't quite wrap my mind around. After examining the method and message of Jesus, Spader asks that we consider looking at the "very example" of Jesus life, again giving specific verses to reflect on. Many of these verses are Jesus' quotes about His obedience to God being an example for us. 

I got stuck however on trying to decide what Spader means. Almost definitely overthinking it, I couldn't (and still can't) make up my mind...

"Are we to think about the example of Jesus' actions? How does his actions differ from his method? That can't be it...

Are we supposed to think about the very fact that he came to earth fully man and lived on earth? There is some meat on that bone. It's certainly worthy of contemplation, but Spader is implying that we are to then take the very example and apply it to our own life. Seeing as how we are already man, one could say that we're all doing pretty great! Haha! No, this cannot be it either...

It must be that we are to consider the whole of the actions of his life, the culmination of his years. If this is the case, summing up the whole of Jesus life into one cohesive image that I can mimic is difficult. The cop out answer is "Jesus is love", but the "love" that Jesus could be summed up as is so deep that people will be studying it and trying to grasp it's depth as long as the earth exists.... How am I supposed to go to sleep after this, Dann?!"

Dann also asks a question that I have no problem answering. "Which of the statements (referencing the verses from Jesus) do you find the most challenging?".

All I can end this blog with is one thought... Thank God for the sacrifice of Jesus that covers our shortcomings. 

What is your take on this verse? Let me know in the comments below, and don't forget to subscribe! 


bottom of page