top of page

3 OF OUR TOP NETFLIX FLICKS (In The Order You Should Watch Them!)

I love holding down the couch after a long day and watching Netflix. Holla if you're with me! Chelsey and I have been doing that long enough to have really combed through the available content, and have found more than a handful of inspiring titles that impacted my outlook on life and spurred me into action. The following are just 3 titles I HIGHLY recommend watching if you are even the least bit interested in nutrition, health, food, cooking, baking, world cultures, etc. Furthermore, I've organized them into the order I believe they should be viewed. The beginning opens eyes, the middle informs more thoroughly, and the end inspires action! Happy viewing!

1. Fat, Sick, And Nearly Dead

A normal guy with an enviable accent embarks on a health pilgrimage across America. While on a fresh fruit and vegetable juice fast, he interviews Americans along the way about their relationship with food and health. It's a hilarious and inspiring story, as you watch Joe not only lose weight and change his deplorable health, he also disciples another he finds along the way who has even "bigger" results. It's also peppered with informative and entertaining animations, which make the seriousness and scariness of the truth of cancer, disease, and obesity a bit less scary.

Why do I love it?- Because Joe understood he needed a change, and he went BIG. Too many times, we KNOW we need a change but convince ourselves to not disrupt our status quo. Joe is a fantastic example to people everywhere that the status quo is something worth disrupting.

2. Cooked

This 4 episode docu-series takes a deep dive into the origins of cooking in 4 different ways; air, fire, water, and fermentation. Best selling food author Michael Pollan takes viewers to remote places and his own kitchen, learning from professionals and indigenous peoples alike the art and history behind these most traditional ways of cooking, which are almost always the healthier way of cooking. All the while, Pollan juxtaposes our current cooking practices with these traditional methods. When put side by side, our current practices are never the desirable ones for health's sake.

The "Air" episode is what inspired me to learn to bake sourdough bread! 10 loaves in, I've had a tasty time eating bread that Pollan posits is the way all leavened bread was SUPPOSED to be. I've also learned that I have much more baking and learning to do before I get a loaf like Pollan does. I mean, C'MON.

3. Forks Over Knives

This documentary opened my eyes to a number of things I had never previously considered. One of the main stories follows a study of cancer mortality over a long period of time in the country of China. this study, known as the China Study, draws some irrefutable conclusions to the link between diet and cancer/disease. Topics like meat consumption, processed foods, medicine in america, food industry practices, political influence of the dairy and cattle industry, and many more are addressed by experts in the medical, political, and athletic arenas. It is powerful, to say the least.

If you come away from watching this documentary without having had your opinions challenged and triumphed over by facts, you didn't watch.

After you watch these or if you already have, let me know what you think! I'd love to hear your feedback. Comment section is the above right, and don't forget to subscribe to this blog on your way out the door!

bottom of page